Prof. Obradovic chairs the selection committee for 2018 SDM/IBM Early Career Data Mining Researcher Award.

Stay connected



Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin


About the Award:
The SDM/IBM Early Career Data Mining Researcher Award for Excellence in Data Analytics seeks to recognize one individual (no runner up/ honorable mention) who has made outstanding, influential, and lasting contributions in the field of data analysis and who will be within 10 years of having received their PhD degree as of the calendar year prior to the year of the award. For example, an award winner in 2018 should have received their PhD no earlier than 2007 from their alma mater.

A candidate may be nominated by any member of the community. An individual may nominate at most one candidate for this award. Nominations must be submitted to the Award Selection Committee Chair by email with “SDM/IBM Research Award” as the subject. A nomination application (a single PDF file) should contain the following:
1 Name/email of nominator (self-nominations are not permitted).
2 Name/email of candidate being nominated.
3 A statement by the nominator (maximum of 500 words) as to why the nominee is highly deserving of the award. Note that since the award is for outstanding contributions, the statement and supporting letters should address what the contributions are and why they are both outstanding and significant. The nomination should also list the names and email addresses of up to 3 persons who will provide letters supporting the nomination.
4 CV of the nominee (the CV must clearly indicate date of degree received)
5 Up to three support letters from persons other than the nominator – these should be collected by the nominator and included in the nomination.

Important Dates:
Nomination Deadline: January 15, 2018
Results Notification: March 1, 2018

Award Chair:
The award selection committee will be chaired by Zoran Obradovic, Temple University (Chair):

Note that members of the selection committee cannot be nominators or provide support letters. Also note that the intent is to select exactly one awardee – re-nominations for subsequent years are permissible as long as the individuals continue to maintain eligibility. The committee at its discretion may elect not to make an award in a particular year.